Your browser is not Java capable or Java has been disabled.


Radio AH7E Hawaii celebrates its 8th year on the web! Officially launched on 3 January 2000, Radio AH7E Hawaii specializes in the monitoring of public safety radio communications and more. We are proud to serve the scanner and amateur radio community in the Aloha State!

Whats New or Upcoming:
Emergency preparedness: A personal responsibility
Visiting Hawaii? We'll put together some information just for our visitors
Site updates with new banners, pictures, and layout - so stay tuned!

Main Page
Amateur Radio
Emergency Preparedness
Visiting Hawaii
About Me
Subscribe to

Powered by

Maui Police Department
You are here: Scanning > Maui Police Home

Maui police patrol car with new livery.


The Maui Police Department is charged with the enforcement of all federal, state, and local laws, and serving an island population of about 120,000 residents and visitors on three inhabited islands: Maui, Molokai, and Lanai.

Department Headquarters

The main department headquarters is located in Wailuku, at 55 Mahalani Street.

Police Stations

District 1: Wailuku Police Station, 55 Mahalani Street, Wailuku
District 2: Lanai Police Station, 855 Fraser Avenue, Lanai City
District 3: Hana Police Station, 35 Hana Highway, Hana
District 4: Lahaina Police Station, 1850 Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina
District 5: Molokai Police Station, 110 Ainoa Street, Kaunakakai
District 6, Kihei Police Station, 1881 South Kihei Road, Kihei

Patrol Division Structure

The county of Maui is subdivided into six patrol districts

District 1 - Wailuku (Sectors 1, 2, and 3)
- Wailuku (Beats 10-19)
- Kahului (Beats 20-29)
- Upcountry (Beats 30-39)

District 2 - Lanai (Sector 1)
- Lanai City (Beats 10-19)

District 3 - Hana (Sector 1)
- Hana (Beats 10-19)

District 4 - Lahaina (Sectors 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5)
- Sector 1 (Beats 10-19)
- Sector 2 (Beats 20-29)
- Sector 3 (Beats 30-39)
- Sector 4 (Beats 40-49)
- Sector 5 (Beats 50-59)

District 5 - Molokai (Sectors 1 and 2)
- West Molokai (Beats 10-19)
- East Molokai (Beats 20-29)

District 6 - Kihei (Sector 4)
- Kihei (Beats 40-49)

Beat Maps

No beat maps are available.

Radio Communications

In Summer 2001, most county agencies, which include police, fire, lifeguards, animal control, and public works, have switched operations to the 800 MHz LTR Multi-Net II trunked radio system.

A P25 CAI digital radio system is being built and is expected to be online sometime in late 2008 into 2009. Civil Defense and Public Works will join the system first, followed by Police, Fire, and Ambulance.

Radio Call Signs

For patrol operations, Maui police call signs consists of three parts: the district number, a watch designator, and a master beat.

District Number: Always the first part of the call sign, ranging from 1 through 6.

Watch Designator: The second part of the call sign, which can have A, B, C, D, or E (see below for watch schedules). This designation is used most often during shift changes in order to differentiate similar units -- (i.e. 1A21 from 1B21). The letter designation is seldom used during the actual shift itself when there is no shift change.

Master Beat: The third part of the call sign, denotes the units primary area of patrol. The first digit in the beat number is the sector number.

Other Call Signs

Tango (Traffic Units), Zulu (Community Policing)
Supervisors use three digit callsigns on the air.

Work Schedules

The patrol division works three shifts: Alpha (2230-0715), Bravo (0630-1515), and Charlie (1430-2215).

Swing-shifts are denoted by callsigns with a "Delta" or "Echo".

Copyright 2000-2009
Webguy: David J. Cabatu, AH7E
Updated: 11.27.2008 at 2:45 p.m.