NZWARO Mountain Buttercup Award

  1. For contacts with licensed NZWARO members, resident, visiting, mobile, etc, in the 60 towns named in the official list. WARO members working mobile, portable, etc may claim the relevant town for her own credit.
  2. Basic award is available for list of 30 contacts with endorsement seals for each further five contacts up to the full 60 required. Applicants submitting a list of the full 60 valid contacts will receive a special endorsement making the award distinctive from those gained for the lesser number of contacts.
  3. Contacts may be any mode, any band or mixed and made from any QTH, but each YL worked must be a financial member of NZWARO at the time of the contact and must be within a 25km radius of the centre of the town claimed.
  4. Contacts made via repeaters, in nets and in contests will qualify and the same WARO members may be contacted in any number of towns.
  5. Award dates from January 1 1989. Send applications after 30 contacts containing full log details with the name of YL and town where worked, signed by one other radio amateur, together with $2.00 to Custodian Caroline Sarten ZL2JP, 212 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand. An official list of towns required to be worked available from the custodian upon receipt of stamped addressed envelope. No QSLs required.
  6. A different series of endorsement seals is available for each further ten contacts (after the basic 60) using the same list of towns. The same WARO members may be worked but each must be in a different town to where previously claimed. Please send SAE with endorsement applications.
North Island South Island
Auckland Kaitaia Palmerston North Te Kuiti Alexandra Invercargill
Dannevirke Masterton Papakura Turangi Ashburton Kaikoura
Dargaville Matamata Putaruru Upper Hutt Balclutha Motueka
Eketahuna Morrinsville Rotorua Waihi Blenheim Nelson
Featherston Napier Taihape Wairoa Christchurch Oamaru
Gisborne New Plymouth Taumarunui Wanganui Cromwell Queenstown
Hamilton Opotiki Taupo Wellington Dunedin Reefton
Hawera Orewa Tauranga Wellsford Gore Timaru
Helensville Otaki Thames Whakatane Greymouth Wanaka
Kaikohe Paihia Te Awamutu Whangarei Hokitika Westport

Back to Awards table