RE: [SI-LIST] : Tools for high-speed interconnect design

About this list Date view Thread view Subject view Author view

From: linda walling (lwalling@uswest.net)
Date: Mon Aug 14 2000 - 10:56:32 PDT


RE: [SI-LIST] : Tools for high-speed interconnect designHassan, Charles,
&
All,

HFSS V8 will have a number of enhancements that make it a full-wave
spice tool.
The enhancements that will most directly focus on SI applications
include Modal-to-modal transformations, which enable a structure to have
multiple coupled conductors at the ports (or terminals), Spice model
export (to Maxwell Spice, PSPICE and HSPICE), lumped RLC elements,
and interpolative discrete sweeps, which will allow extremely large
problems to run faster and smaller and allow for very accurate emissions
testing.

I am not sure when V8 will be released - I believe the scheduled date is
around the end of the year, but it has not been announced yet.

linda

********************************************************************
Linda Walling
High Frequency Applications Engineer
Southwest Region
********************************************************************
Ansoft's U.S. customer support group for high-frequency products:

Michael Brenneman (CA) 408-261-9095 brenneman@ansoft.com
Markus Kopp (FL) 954-571-0243 kopp@ansoft.com
Liza Ma (CA) 310-375-7126 lma@ansoft.com
David Perry (NH) 603-643-5340 perry@ansoft.com
Richard Remski (TX) 817-516-7133 remski@ansoft.com
Steve Rousselle (CA) 310-937-1684 rousselle@ansoft.com
James Sherman (FL) 727-394-1023 sherman@ansoft.com
John Silvestro (PA) 412-261-3200x127 silvestro@ansoft.com
Linda Walling (NM) 505-828-2103 walling@ansoft.com

***************************************************************
Ansoft's customer support for installation issues:
Louis Reash (PA), 412-261-3200x165 louis@ansoft.com

********************************************************************
Check out Ansoft's WWW site at http://www.ansoft.com for product
information, technical support, employment opportunities, etc.
********************************************************************

Haved you donated food today to a hungry person?
http://www.thehungersite.com/

  -----Original Message-----
  From: Hassan Ali [mailto:hali@nortelnetworks.com]
  Sent: Friday, August 11, 2000 1:33 PM
  To: Charles Grasso; Ray Anderson; si-list
  Cc: lwalling
  Subject: RE: [SI-LIST] : Tools for high-speed interconnect design

  Charles,

  "Modes to nodes" thing won't give you a SPICE model from the way I
understood that concept from the Ansoft people and from my own past
research. I understood it to be a technique of coupling (interfacing)
the
traditional SPICE-based electrical circuit (nodal) simulation with 3D EM
field (modal) simulation. In this technique the models of the
interconnects
are implicitly generated and utilised. The generated interconnect models
would mean nothing to external SPICE-based simulators. Ansoft people may
correct me if I'm wrong.

  And BTW, is Ansoft HFSS 8 already available?

  Regards.

  Hassan.

  -----Original Message-----
  From: Charles Grasso [mailto:chasgra@msn.com]
  Sent: Friday, August 11, 2000 2:28 PM
  To: Ray Anderson; si-list
  Cc: lwalling
  Subject: Re: [SI-LIST] : Tools for high-speed interconnect design

  Hello,

  Ansofts HFSS version 8 translates modes to nodes , in other words you
can
  get
  a fully coulped SPICE model of the device of interest to a very high
  bandwidth.

  Thank you.

**** To unsubscribe from si-list or si-list-digest: send e-mail to
majordomo@silab.eng.sun.com. In the BODY of message put: UNSUBSCRIBE
si-list or UNSUBSCRIBE si-list-digest, for more help, put HELP.
si-list archives are accessible at http://www.qsl.net/wb6tpu
****


About this list Date view Thread view Subject view Author view

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Wed Nov 22 2000 - 10:51:01 PST