# BYLAWS Marshall County Amateur Radio Club

Reprinted for distribution to members. April 2000 Reflecting existing amendments

## **PURPOSE**:

The purpose of the formation of this club is to benefit and support Radio Amateurs and their role in the community.

#### **MEETINGS:**

Meetings will be held on the third Tuesday of every month. Starting times of meetings will be as close as possible to 8:00 p.m. Closing times of meetings will be as close as possible to 9:00 p.m. Roberts Rules of Order shall govern all proceedings. Meeting places are to be decided upon by the membership.

#### MEMBERSHIP:

Membership shall be open to all FCC licensed Radio Amateurs. Upon reaching the age of 55, free lifetime membership can be obtained by having 10 previous years of paid membership or by a majority vote of the current club members.

#### DUES:

Dues are to be set at 5 dollars a year. Payment of dues will be yearly as you are added to the roll. There will be a 30 day grace period. After 30 days of non-payment that member will be automatically dropped from the roll. Any lifetime member or full dues paying member may submit any licensed family member living in the same household for a membership rate of \$1 per year.

#### OFFICERS/OFFICES:

Club officers shall be President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Trustee. All officers shall be elected by ballot except the Trustee. The Trustee shall be appointed by the 3 elected officials. Upon a death or resignation, a new officer shall be elected or appointed, as the case may be as soon as possible.

## **DUTIES OF OFFICERS:**

President: The President shall open and close all meetings. He/She shall also conduct all meetings in an orderly and concise manner as befitting his/her office.

Vice-President: The Vice-President shall assume all duties of the President if he/she becomes unable to perform them. The Vice-President shall automatically be chair-person of the Finance Committee if there is one.

Secretary-Treasurer: The Secretary-Treasurer shall keep, provide, and read all minutes. He/She shall keep a current listing of all members, their addresses, and phone numbers. He/She shall keep a balanced treasury book and provide a verbal treasury report at each meeting. He/She shall also provide a written treasury statement at the end of each fiscal year. The Secretary-Treasurer shall also provide membership cards to each member as they pay their dues.

Trustee: The Trustee shall have a primary responsibility of seeing that all authorized bills be paid and that no unauthorized monies be paid out. His/Her secondary responsibility shall be to provide continuity between the club and public officials, their officers and all interested parties.

#### TERM OF OFFICE:

All terms of office shall be one year. In the event of a death or resignation, the new officer's term shall run until the end of the fiscal year.

#### THE CLUB'S FISCAL YEAR:

The club's fiscal year shall be from April 1 to April 1

#### **COMMITTEES:**

Program: The program committee shall try to obtain a program for each club meeting. These programs are to inform, enlighten, and entertain the members. They are to be short in length and need not exclusively pertain to Amateur Radio.

Finance: The finance committee shall try to obtain funds or monies other than dues. This committee is not mandatory and need only be founded when it is deemed necessary by the elected officials and voted in by a two thirds vote of the membership.

Membership and/or Training: This committee shall campaign for and seek out new members and try to persuade delinquent members to rejoin. It's duties will also include that of providing training and schooling for new amateurs and upgrading others. This committee is also not mandatory and need only be founded when it is deemed necessary by the elected officials and voted in by a two thirds vote of the membership.

A committee shall consist of 3 appointed members with the exception of the finance committee. The finance committee shall have a permanent chair-person, which shall be the Vice-President. The other 2 members shall be appointed by the 4 officers of the club.

#### DISPERSION OF FUNDS:

In the event the club ceases to be and disperses, all monies in the treasury after all payment of bills will be donated to a charity in Marshall County.

#### MONIES:

All monies shall be kept by the Secretary-Treasurer in a bank in Marshall County chosen by the membership in a two thirds vote.

#### IN ORDER TO CONDUCT BUSINESS:

In order to conduct any business there must be a quorum of 5 members. Two officers must be present at any meeting. However these officers may be members of the quorum.

## VOTING:

All voting may be done by a show of hands or by ballot. The choice in which manner the voting will take place shall be at the President's discretion. The President may only vote in a tie breaker.

There shall be (either verbal or written) no agreements made or promises made to any public official, their officers, or any other persons or organizations unless first agreed and voted upon by a two thirds vote of the membership or a quorum.

#### **CHARTER MEMBERSHIP:**

Charter membership shall consist of only those members that participated in the first organizational meeting. Charter membership shall not constitute any extra privileges, favors, or advantages. It is only to provide recognition for those members that gave of their time, skill and effort in the formation of this club.

## CHARTER MEMBERS:

Fred Nieffeld, WBØSZS (KFØHS)

Duane Reynolds, WDØFSF

Nathan Bargmann, KAØRNY (NØNB)

Ernest Wolff, WØGCJ

Edward Latta, KAØDAD

Mike Lyhane, WBØYOP

#### **BYLAWS CHANGES OR AMENDMENTS:**

In order for any changes or amendments to those Bylaws to take place:

First: A written statement stating that this is to take place is to be sent out to the general membership 30 days or one meeting in advance of the voting meeting.

Second: A discussion is to be held and then in order to pass a two thirds vote of the membership or quorum must be won.