GETTING STARTED IN HAM RADIO.. ScoutElmer Compiled by ScoutRadio

You can get started in ham radio with the help of these very special ScoutElmer Award Hams listed below...

It isn't our purpose to tell you everything there is to know about ham radio, instead we hope to point you in the right direction of resources in your community.

There are many dedicated ham that teach amateur radio. The following ScoutElmer contacts are specifically geared to help young people AND Adult learders in amateur radio. ScoutRadio salute these fine hams, clubs and organizaitons.

HOW TO USE THIS LIST:

1. Select your closest location. (We will add map navigation to this page in the next few weeks to make it easier).

2. Send an email to that ScoutElmer identifing yourself as a Scout or Scout leader refered by ScoutRadio. (See pre-caution below)

3. Most ScoutElmers have requested helping via email only. See the comment column for those giving classes. Once you have established email contact, you can ask about phone contact, classes, etc.

4. Common info requested: Scout classes in your area; Testing sites; Equipment suggestions; Scouting ham groups in the area.

!!!VERY IMPORTANT PRE-CAUTION!!!

Scouts should NEVER arrange to meet with anyone on our list in person unless accompanied by an his/her parent or an adult. Two deep leadership is strongly advised! We have made every effort to qualify ScoutElmers by requiring a callsign and Scout Affiliation, but we can not verify the information. Scouts, make sure you get permission from your parents to contact a ScoutElmer!

ScoutRadio's ScoutElmer Award Hams

Country Region/State/Prov City Name & Call Email Scout Affiliation Comments
Australia NSW Sydney Colin Stevenson VK2CS vktwocs@suburbia.com.au New South Wales Branch Headquarters, Radio Scouting Email only - whole of Australia
Australia Western Australia Perth Mark J Gaynor de VK6ZEO Mark@scouts.org.au Scouts Australia - Western Australian Branch
Belgium Belgium Belgium Tom Depuydt ON1DJN tom.depuydt@esat.kuleuven.ac.be troop B1310 Starting a ham post
Belgium Belgium Brussels Beuselinck Franky ON4CEL Frankyb@glo.be non scout member
Canada Ontario Chatham Jerry Hind VA3 HND CAW Local 35, caw35@MNSi.Net Service Scouter, Chatham District HQ., Cub master #25 Chatham Coordinator Chatham district Ham station (VE3 CBS) we sponsor
UK London London NW area Phil, Orchard G0EYZ Orchard@BTInternet.com Skills Instructor, and run MK Scout A.R.G 1st Bletchley Scout Group, & Milton Keynes Scout Amateur Radio Group
UK Gilwell Park London Frank Heritage M0AEU Frank Heritage, 100613.3522@compuserve.com Manager GB2GP - Gilwell Park amateur radio station. GB2GP is a club callsign - it's a permanent special event callsign allocated to
USA AK Anchorage Robert Kelly WL7EN rkelly@alaska.net Troop 104 Assittant Scoutmaster and Denail District Committee Member the Scout Association over here in the UK. The "club" is the Scout Association
USA AL Birmingham Harry D. (Hank) Montgomery Jr. - K4HM k4hm@scott.net BSA Troup 17 (Louisville, KY) and we hold 3 calls at Gilwell Park, the main camping site, located 17km north
USA AZ Flagstaff Jerry Conover, AB7II jerry.conover@nau.edu scout parent, past scout of the centre of London, on the edge of Epping Forest. These are GB2GP for
USA AZ Phoenix David C. McCarthy, KC7AYX davidmc@goodnet.com Scoutmaster, Troop 347, Grand Canyon Council, Scottsdale special occasions; G8WGP for any Class B operators at the site and G0SWN, the
USA AZ Tucson Harold Plum KB8SOP hplum@azstarnet.com Assistant Scoutmaster Troop 293 Class A club call. Gilwell is also the Headquarters for the Scout Association
USA CA Alameda Co John Farr KD6CLO kd6clo@radio.org Past Scout refered by Dale Goodman KD4CVR over here.
USA CA Culver City H.L. Marks, KC6RKO hlmarks@flash.net Radio and Astronomy Merit Badge Counceler Enjoy QRP, kit building, and HF
USA CA Los Angeles Steve Mandich KF6FJG vkhd16a@prodigy.com Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 213 Registered Scout Leader since 1989
USA CA Orange County Kenan Reilly, N6CCE kereilly@ix.netcom.com
USA CA Orange County Tom Brashears KF6EZS TwiceEagle@aol.com Committe for Scout Troop 488
USA CA Orange County Jon Wetterholm KD6BPE wetterholm@xc.org Committee member Troop 51
USA CA Orange County Warren Hoffnung KF6VV ggte@earthlink.net Troop 557-Huntington Beach (1970's) After May 1997; Morse Tutor Gold (software)
USA CA S.F Bay Area Dennis Franklin K6DF k6df@callsign.net Scouter-at-Large till 1989 - Also Order of the Arrow member USS Pampanito ARC, South Bay ARC
USA CA San Fernando Bill Handy Jr wmhandy@concentric.net Den Leader, Den 6, Bobcats, Pack103 Will respond to e-mail and phone calls
USA CA San Francisco Arthur Sloate KO6MU art.sloate@ibm.net sst Cubmaster, Pack 74 Los Altos, CA ( Eagle Scout)
USA CA San Jose David Cook, KE6VKR david_cook@amdahl.com ASM Troop 264 (San Jose), Treasurer Post 264 (San Jose), Eagle Scout I teach classes 1-2 times per year
USA CA San Jose Mike Brown N6WIG mikhael_brown@sj.hp.com Committee member for Troop 212.
USA CA Santa Clara Valley Bill Dale N2RHV n2rhv@wvara.org Troop 92 Milpitas, CA, Planning an Explorers Post for Ham Radio Scout Net on Thursdays, 147.855-(100pl)
USA CO Colorado Springs Mike Proctor, KB0IAP mproctor1@juno.com Eagle Scout, 59 years old Tech Plus, voice UHF/VHF, Packet
USA CT southeastern CT Joe Natale K1JN k1jn@riconnect.com
USA FL Clearwater Mike Branda K4HN K4HN@amsat.org Roundtable commissioner ARRL & W5YI VE, Extra class, Member Clearwater Amateur Radio Society, AMSAT
USA FL Miami Arthur Rauch W4VZ w4vz@herald.infi.net Member Comittee Troop 23 Miami QCWA Southeast Florida Chapter #12
USA GA Centerville(Warner Robins, Macon, Byron, Ft. Valley) Chris Hudson - KD4IXP ChrisMandJ@aol.com Scoutmaster Middle Georgia Radio Association
USA GA Rome Ben Cleary KF4OEO bcleary@roman.net Assistant Scoutmaster and Meritbadge Counselor
USA GA Dekalb County Andy Funk KB7UV afunk@wagatv.com I was a Cub Scout long ago, and an Explorer in High School (Nassau County Medical Center's Medical Explorer Post, East Meadow, New York, I don't recall the Post #, back in 1974-5).
USA IL Buffalo Grove James Barr, N9ONL maxmgr@handi-foil.com Earned Eagle Scout in 1983. Member of North Shore Radio Club (NSRC), Highland Park, IL
USA IL Carbondale John Mead, W9OW jmead@siu.edu Assistant scout master Troop 66, Kaskaskia district,Greater St. louis Member Southern Illinois University amateur Radio Club
USA IL Chicago Henry Van Bogaert, N9WMM n9wmm@callsign.net Explorer/Post Leader (EA/CM/AA) 15 years, Cub Leader (including CM) 4 years, Troop leader (ASM) 1 year
USA IL Chicago Mike Anderson, WV7T wv7t@juno.com Navy Chief Petty Officer U.S. Naval Training Center, Great lakes ARC, club call W9USN
USA IL Park Ridge Art Steinke WB9JKZ ARTJEZ@webspun.com District. Training committee, District. committees, National Jamboree K2BSA KB9LEA Northwest surburban Council, BSA. Mt. Prospect IL
USA IL Schaumburg Bill Cohn N9MHT cohns@enteract.com Assistant Scoutmaster Troop 493, Den Leader Coach Pack 493, Vice Chairman Cub Scouts Pathfinder District Northwest Suburban
USA IN Mansfield Steve Morahn N9WQR morahn@ccrtc.com Explorer Post Adviser WVARA Club Member, Explorer Post 102
USA IO Eastern Iowa David R. Andersen K0RX k0rx@solon.eng.uiowa.edu Den Leader Pack 120 Solon, Iowa Electrical Engineering professor The University of Iowa.
USA KY Glasgow Joe A Taylor N4NAS n4nas@4u.net Troop 747 and 214 Mammoth Cave Amateur Radio Club
USA MA Nashua Valley Patrick Taber KC1TD ptaber@microtest.com Den leader with Cub Scout Pack 45
USA MI Detroit Randy Schuck K8EZ K8EZ@concentric.net Cub/Boy Scout younger days. No current affiliation
USA MN Minneapolis Glenn Schultz N0VYK glenn@spacestar.net Star Scout, Pack helper for my son's pack
USA MN S.E. Minnesota Steven I. Altchuler, AB0DE altchuler@alum.mit.edu District Membership Chair & Council President
USA MO Rolla Scott Blomquist KC5WJN sblomqui@umr.edu Troop 81 Univ. of Missouri -- Rolla Amateur Radio Club meets at 7pm every
USA MO St. Louis Bill Coby KB0MWG bcoby@mo.net Past Advisor of Special Interest Post 9101 St. Louis Suburban Radio Club - St. Louis
USA MO St. Louis Peter A. Norgard KI0EG ki0eg@juno.com Eagle Suburban Radio Club
USA MO St. Louis Area Richard A. Grady N0JYU dgradyr@mo.net Post #2179 St. Louis Area Council
USA NC Charlotte Don Pettigrew WB4BHJ don@unitedeg.com Troop Committee for Troop 118
USA NC Winston-Salem Jim Curran KF4KYD curran@wfu.edu Former scout (30 years ago)
USA NJ Northern NJ Jack Pfister KA2IVS ka2ivs@gramercy.ios.com son belongs to Webelos Den 4 of Pack 110 in Bergen I've been a ham since 1980
USA NY N. New York State Steve Auyer, N2TKX N2TKXSA@dreamscape.com Troop 139 Committee Member, Hiawatha Council Liverpool (NY) Amateur Repeater Club, Radio Amateurs of Greater Syracuse
USA NY New York Don Reed KF2XF twofox@idt.net Past SM Troop 333, Pioneer Ebonaire ARS New York
USA NY PHILMONT CHRISTOPHER CARLSEN--- N2PBN eagle1@taconic.net commissioners staff-Twin Rivers Council, eagle scout, Post Advisor post 47, troop 127
USA OH Cincinnati Jerry Shipp KB8UBG rbare@usa.net Tiger Cub Coordinator for Pack 354, Saint Bernard Ohio homebrew & QRP
USA PA Eastern Pennsylvania Dave R. Schack, WC3A kev17815@epix.net Merit badge councelor for radio and electronics.
USA PA Philadelphia SPARK Lodge ARC, K3BSA k3bsa@k3bsa.org Cradle of Liberty Counci Explorer Post 599, Sponsoring Organization
USA TN Brighton Dan Miller KD4NET KD4NET@aol.com
USA TX Houston James Wells, KC5SIZ jwells@argohouston.com Junior Asst SM, Chapter Chief-Rising Star, Colonneh Lodge #137 Northwest Amateur Radio Society
USA TX Houston area Dale Martin KG5U kg5u@hal-pc.org Cub Scouts-- ~1954, Boy Scouts--~1958-60
USA TX Houston area rick hiller w5RH rhiller@sysdev.com Troop 549 Sam Houston Area council--Radio Merit Eagle Scout in 1970.Brazos-Valley Amateur Radio club
USA VI Loundon County Beverly Taylor, KF4JBN btaylor@vredenburg.com Explorer Post 956 Committee Chairman Sterling Park ARC and Dulles AR Group
USA WI Waukesha Glenn Letts N9NLO gletts@execpc.com Troop 159 & District Committee's, Associate Advisor Post 42, Acting OA Chapter Advisor Radio Merit Badge