Welcome to Kansas District 1 ARES

I am the volunteer ARRL appointed District Emergency Coordinator (DEC) for Kansas District 1 Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES), which includes the Northeast Kansas counties of Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Shawnee and Wabaunsee. ARES is made up of licensed amateur radio operators who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment for communications duty in the public service when disaster strikes. Please contact me directly through my @arrl.net E-mail address should you have any questions or wish to become registered with ARES in my district.

2017 Weather Spotter Training Opportunities

Douglas County: Saturday March 4 at 7:30 AM - The Douglas County Severe Weather Symposium is a day of training designed to provide instruction in advanced storm development, spotter safety, and the importance of spotter reports. The presentations will include incredible storm videos, experts in the field from the public and private sectors, and will conclude with a Panel discussion with the presenters, National Weather Service meteorologists, and local television meteorologists. Pre-registration is required and there is a $15 fee to attend. [Registration Link]

Kansas City National Weather Service Training

Doniphan County: Monday, February 27, 2017 at 7:00 PM - Troy Community Building, 1225 Last Chance Road, Troy, KS 66087 [Full Schedule for KC Forcast Office]

Topeka National Weather Service Training Schedule

Kansas District 1 ARES is a Weather-Ready Nation Ambassador



Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES)
Amateur Radio Emergency Service Registration Form (PDF)
NWS Weather Spotter's Field Guide (PDF)
SKYWARN Information and Overview