The Luminaria & Regatta of Saint Ranieri:
"La Luminaria" or " The Luminary" was born simply as the inhabitants of the city lighted candles in their windows for the passing processions on the Feast of the Patron Saint, St. Ranieri on June 16th, but in the 18th cent. the Luminaria was sometimes used freely on buildings, trasforming the lungarni into an impressive sight.
The frames, or "cornici", evoking bizarre forms, transform the city, especially along the river, into a phantasmagorical site. The candles, set in wooden frames of various shapes, give the impression of a wholly different and dreamy city of light, sombrely reflected in the dark of the night and into dark waters of the river, a sight of unique beauty witnessed by thousands of appreciative spectators every year.
Pisan records mention the old race for the Palio dell'Assunta as early as 1292, that rules were established only in 1635 and since 1718 the race has been held for the Feast of San Ranieri. The Luminaria was abolished in 1867, then reinstated in 1937 along the Gioco del Ponte, only to be suspended again during the Second World War.
In 1952 the Luminaria was begun again in the occasion ofthe night before the Feast of St. Ranieri, June 16th as in the past. Since then, the 70.000 candles which illuminate all the palaces and churches along the Arno River have carried on this romantic tradition every year.
The four historical distircts of the city partecipate the day after to a race in the river using Arno as the play-place.