RF measuring bridge for the standing wave alignment

 

An even QRP station is dependent on the fact that the RF produced by the TX the antenna is achieved and radiated by this completely. A measure for it, how much energy is not accepted by the antenna system and into the output stage is reflected, is the standing-wave ratio. How it can be measured with simple means, this contribution shows.

 

The circuit

 

It concerns a bridge circuit for RF, whose application for the standing wave alignment decreases/goes back with QRP stations on George Grammer, W1DF and in the " QRP - Notebook " by Doug DeMaw, W1FB (1) is contained.

 

Fig. (1) schematic diagram

 

The application of this bridge circuit for standing wave measurement has the advantage that only small RF voltages are needed for the measurement. Thus the bridge circuit is suitable outstanding for QRP. Even here has one often the problem that with conventional standing wave measuring instruments, which do not operate according to the principle of the Reflektometers - if they are not particularly appropriate for QRP - power output for the full rejection of the display been sufficient. Thus an exact SWR is not possible - for measurement. The established circuit achieves already 40 mW RF of a RF generator full-scale of the display.

Fig. (1) shows the schematic diagram. The measuring bridge is appropriate for 50W. Resistances the R1... R3 to take, i.e. use if possible no wirewound resistors or coiled of layer resistances should be induction-poor.

The 50 W receives one by parallel connection from 2 pieces 100 W resistances. I use so-called metal film resistors with an input of 1 Watt. After I had examined such a resistance more exactly, by removing the dye film with solvent, I had to state that I deviated here from the pure teachings: The layer of metal had a spiral structure! The circuit to 30 MHz operates nevertheless satisfyingly.

Resistances the R1... R3 should be able to take up the double performance, which is supplied to the bridge at RF to total. With 3 resistance à 2 Watts (parallel connection) is laid out the bridge only to 3 Watts of transmitting power (continuous line). Brief tests with performances around 5 Watts of RF are also possible.

Disadvantage of this circuit is that the monitor function is not possible, i.e. often remains the measuring instruments in the antenna line and enables the check of the presence of RF. However actually needs one for the QSO drives no jumping pointer. It is to be gone around by the bypass circuit over switch S1 possible the measuring bridge, better is it however after the measurement the device from the antenna line to be removed.

 

 

The structure

In order to structure this device fast and inexpensive, it offers itself to convert a SWR measuring instrument from the CB-Radio-Area. There are these devices in the CB - radio requirement for scarce under 20, -- DM. Such a "blank" bring along a solid casing, an instrument movement with a sensitivity of approx. 200 mA, two female connectors, the necessary diode and the potentiometer for further use. Additionally one only one rotary switch (2 levels, 3 contacts) and three 50 W of resistances needs.

First the pcb (printed circuit board) is removed. On it are two diodes, of which one can be recycelt for our purposes. Then the change over switch is forwardbackwards removed. Here the rotary switch must be installed. In addition one makes of a small piece pcb material a mounting plate with 6 mm a drilling, which carries the switch and which is screwed from the rear to the front plate.

Before the switch is finally built into the device, it should be wired.

The remaining circuit is freely wired at the rear wall between the female connectors. As solder supports I have so-called uhf condensers 3 pF used, which rest against the rear wall, but was not glued to. That keeps whole ones between the sockets and the rotary switch mechanical by the rigid connecting leads of the resistances and condensers.

 

The measuring

To calibrate the scale, one needs induction-poor laboratory resistors, which one can attach to antenna socket of the device.

If RF is because of the bridge and the antenna link with 50 W a resistance is final, then bridge zero are present, i.e. the pointer of the instrument may not deflect. In this configuration the max. usable frequency of the measuring bridge can be determined. With my copy the pointer deflects half pointer width with 30 MHz, which one can still aktzeptieren even. Thus the short wave area is entered.

In the position CAL with the automatic controller P1 full-scale is stopped.

60 W if a resistance is attached, then a SWR of 1,2 is situated: 1 forwards, the pointer position can be marked.

With further resistances the remainder of the scale can be calibrated.

 

50 W &# 1:1

60 W &# 1,2:1

75 W &# 1,5:1

100 W &# 2:1

 

The relation of the laboratory resistor to the value 50 W is equal to the voltage standing-wave ratio.

 

The measurement

To measurement transmitter and antenna are brought attached, the switch into the position to CAL, brought RF created (pressed on the morse key) and the display with the automatic controller P1 on full-scale. Then to SWR is switched and the result is read off. If that decreases/goes back completely pointers on zero, we have a SWR of 1:1.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Components:

1    "Blank" CB SWR Meter "CB -Master 420", "SWR-2" or similar. e.g. Conrad stock No.: 26 03 04-99

6     resistors 100 W /1 Watt

2     condenser 10 nF

1     resistor 1 kW

4     condenser (or ceramic soldering points)

1     rotary switch

 

 

 

Pictures:

 

Fig. (1) schematic diagram

 

Fig. (2) The "Blank", an usual SWR measuring instrument from the CB-Radio-Area.

 

Fig. (3) View into the wiring of the measuring bridge for the standing wave alignment .

 

 

 

Literature:

 

(1) Doug DeMaw, W1FB: QRP - Notebook, 3. Edition 1990, ARRL Inc., ISBN 0-87259-306-1

 


Zurück zur DL2LUX-Homepage


Copyright© Andreas Bilsing, DL2LUX, upload 28. May 1999

HF Meßbrücke für den Stehwellenabgleich

 

Gerade eine QRP Station ist darauf angewiesen, daß die vom TX erzeugte HF die Antenne erreicht und von dieser vollständig abgestahlt wird. Ein Maß dafür, wieviel Energie vom Antennensystem nicht aktzeptiert wird und in die Endstufe reflektiert wird, ist das Stehwellenverhältnis. Wie es mit einfachen Mittel gemessen werden kann, zeigt dieser Beitrag.

 

Die Schaltung

 

Es handelt sich um eine Brückenschaltung für HF, deren Einsatz für den Stehwellenabgleich bei QRP-Stationen auf George Grammer, W1DF zurückgeht und im "QRP – Notebook" von Doug DeMaw, W1FB (1) enthalten ist.

 

Schaltung SWR-Brücke

 

 

Der Einsatz dieser Brückenschaltung zur Stehwellenmessung hat den Vorteil, daß nur geringe HF-Spannungen zur Messung benötigt werden. Damit eignet sich die Brückenschaltung hervorragend für QRP. Gerade hier hat man oft das Problem, daß bei herkömmlichen Stehwellenmeßgeräten, die nach dem Prinzip des Reflektometers arbeiten - wenn sie nicht speziell für QRP ausgelegt sind - die Ausgangsleistung zur Vollaussteuerung der Anzeige nicht genügt. Damit ist eine genaue SWV - Messung nicht möglich. Die erprobte Schaltung erreicht bereits 40 mW HF eines HF-Generators Vollausschlag der Anzeige.

Bild (1) zeigt den Schaltplan. Die Meßbrücke ist für 50 Ohm ausgelegt. Die Widerstände R1 ...R3 nehmen sollten induktionsarm sein, d. h. möglichst keine Drahtwiderstände oder gewendelte Schichtwiderstände verwenden.

Die 50 Ohm erhält man durch Parallelschaltung von 2 Stück 100 Ohm Widerständen. Ich verwende sogenannte Metallschichtwiderstände mit einer Leistung von 1 Watt. Nachdem ich einen solchen Widerstand genauer untersucht hatte, indem ich die Farbschicht mit Lösungsmittel entfernte, mußte ich feststellen, daß ich hier von der reinen Lehre abgewichen bin: Die Metallschicht hatte eine Wendelstruktur! Dennoch arbeitet die Schaltung bis 30 MHz zufriedenstellend.

Die Widerstände R1 ...R3 sollten in Summe die doppelte Leistung aufnehmen können, die der Brücke an HF zugeführt wird. Bei 3 Widerständen à 2 Watt (Parallelschaltung) ist die Brücke nur bis 3 Watt Sendeleistung (Dauerstrich) ausgelegt. Kurzzeitige Tests mit Leistungen um 5 Watt HF sind auch möglich.

Nachteil dieser Schaltung ist, daß die Monitorfunktion nicht möglich ist, d. h. oft verbleiben die Meßgeräte in der Antennenleitung und ermöglichen die Kontrolle der Anwesenheit von HF. Aber eigentlich benötigt man zum QSO fahren keinen zappelnden Zeiger. Durch die Bypaßschaltung über S1 ist es möglich die Meßbrücke zu umgehen, besser ist es aber nach der Messung das Gerät aus der Antennenleitung zu entfernen.

 

 

Der Aufbau

Um dieses Gerät schnell und preiswert aufzubauen, bietet es sich an, ein SWR-Meßgerät aus dem CB-Funk-Bereich umzubauen. Diese Geräte gibt es im CB - Funkbedarf oder im Versandhandel für knapp unter 20,--DM. Ein solcher "Rohling" bringt ein solides Gehäuse, ein Meßwerk mit einer Empfindlichkeit von ca. 200 m A, zwei Anschlußbuchsen, die benötigte Diode und das Potentiometer zur weiteren Verwendung mit. Zusätzlich benötigt man nur noch ein Drehschalter (2 Ebenen, 3 Kontakte) und drei 50 Ohm Widerstände.

Zunächst wird die Leiterplatte mit der Meßleitung entfernt. Auf ihr befinden sich zwei Dioden, von denen eine für unsere Zwecke recycelt werden kann. Dann wird der Umschalter Vorwärts/Rückwärts entfernt. An dieser Stelle muß der Drehschalter montiert werden. Dazu stellt man aus einem kleinen Stück Leiterkartenmaterial eine Montageplatte mit einer 6 mm Bohrung her, welche den Schalter trägt und die von hinten an die Frontplatte geschraubt wird.

Bevor der Schalter endgültig in das Gerät eingebaut wird, sollte er vorverdrahtet werden.

Die übrige Schaltung wird an der Rückwand zwischen den Anschlußbuchsen frei verdrahtet. Als Lötstützpunkte habe ich sogenannte Klatschkondensatoren 3 pF verwendet, die an der Rückwand anliegen, aber nicht angeklebt wurden. Mechanisch hält das Ganze zwischen den Buchsen und dem Drehschalter durch die starren Anschlußdrähte der Widerstände und Kondensatoren.

 

Die Eichung

Will man die Skala eichen, benötigt man induktionsarme Meßwiderstände, die man an Antennenbuchse des Gerätes anschließen kann.

Wenn HF an der Brücke liegt und der Antennenanschluß mit einem 50 Ohm Widerstand abgeschlossen ist, dann liegt Brückennull vor, d. h. der Zeiger des Instrumentes darf nicht ausschlagen. In dieser Konfiguration läßt sich die maximal nutzbare Frequenz der Meßbrücke bestimmen. Bei meinem Exemplar schlägt der Zeiger bei 30 MHz eine halbe Zeigerbreite aus, was man gerade noch aktzeptieren kann. Damit ist der KW-Bereich erfaßt.

In der Stellung CAL wird mit dem Regler P1 Vollausschlag eingestellt.

Wird ein 60 Ohm Widerstand angeschlossen, dann liegt ein SWV von 1,2 : 1 vor, die Zeigerstellung kann markiert werden.

Mit weiteren Widerständen kann der Rest der Skala geeicht werden.

 

50 Ohm 1:1

60 Ohm 1,2:1

75 Ohm 1,5:1

100 Ohm 2:1

 

Das Verhältnis des Meßwiderstandes zu dem Wert 50 Ohm ist gleich dem Stehwellenverhältnis.

 

Die Messung

Zu Messung wird Sender und Antenne angeschlossen, der Schalter in die Stellung CAL gebracht, HF angelegt (auf die Morsetaste gedrückt) und die Anzeige mit dem Regler P1 auf Endausschlag gebracht. Dann wird auf SWR umgeschaltet und das Ergebnis abgelesen. Geht der vollständig Zeiger auf Null zurück, haben wir ein SWR von 1:1.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bauteile

1 Stück "Rohling" CB Stehwellenmeßgerät "CB -Master 420", "SWR-2" o. ä.

z. B. Conrad Best.-Nr.: 26 03 04-99

6 Stück Metallschichtwiderstände 100 Ohm /1 Watt

2 Stück Kondensatoren 10 nF

1 Stück Widerstand 1 kOhm

4 Stück Klatschkondensatoren (oder keramische Lötstützpunkte)

1 Stück Drehschalter

 

 

 

Bilder

 

Bild (1) Die Schaltung der HF-Meßbrücke

 

Bild (2) Der "Rohling", ein im CB-Funk gebräuchliches Stehwellenmeßgerät

"Rohling"

 

Bild (3) Innenansicht der HF-Meßbrücke. Die Brückenwiderstände sind frei zwischen den Anschlußbuchsen und dem Drehschalter verdrahtet.

 

Innenansicht SWR-Brücke

 

 

Literatur:

 

(1) Doug DeMaw, W1FB: QRP - Notebook, 3. Auflage 1990, ARRL Inc., ISBN 0-87259-306-1

 


Zurück zur DL2LUX-Homepage


Copyright© Andreas Bilsing, DL2LUX, upload 12. Oktober 1998